Australia's Premier Classical Music Label

top line
 General searches

  Quick search 
  Cat. No. search 
bottom line
top line
 Browse by

 • Solo artists by name
 •  -  "  -   by Instrument
 • Composers
 • Conductors
 • Instruments
 • Australian orchestras
 • Full catalogue
 • DVDs
 • Biographies
 • ABC Jazz
bottom line
top line

 • Recent
 • Forthcoming
bottom line
top line
 About ABC Classics

 • About us
 • Ordering CDs & DVDs
 • Security & Privacy
 • Currency conversion
bottom line
top line

 • Musical places of

bottom line

This site is

Howard Blake Lifecycle
AU $23.93   
Howard Blake Lifecycle

Cat. No. 476 118-4 View booklet Acrobat PDF file for ABC Classics CD 476 118-4 Howard Blake Lifecycle [133Kb]
Label: ABC Classics Medium: CD No. Discs: 1

The music of British composer Howard Blake shot to international recognition with the release of the Raymond Briggs film The Snowman. Blake's beautiful theme song, 'Walking in the Air', captured the imagination of audiences around the world. This song has been performed by many artists, including Aled Jones and Hayley Westenra.

Blake, who has written more than 60 scores for film and TV, including The Avengers, A Month in the Country and My Life So Far, conceived the idea for Lifecycle, a sequence of 24 pieces for the piano, after a conversation with world-renowned pianist Vladimir Ashkenazy, to whom the cycle is dedicated.

This suite of 24 attractive and entertaining pieces, including 'Walking in the Air', is magnificently performed by pianist William Chen, who makes his debut on ABC Classics with this recording.

Artist: William Chen (piano).

Piano Music of Imagination and Reflection.

1. Prelude: Andantino
2. Nocturne
3. Impromptu
4. Toccatina
5. Mazurka
6. Walking Song
7. Chaconne
8. Scherzo
9. Ballad
10. Rag
11. Study
12. Berceuse
13. Prelude: Allegro Risoluto
14. The Music Box
15. Romanza
16. Dance of the Hunters
17. Dance of the Sun and the Moon
18. Isabelle
19. Serioso come una Marcia lenta
20. Jump
21. Walking in the Air
22. Night and Day
23. Oberon
24. Make-Believe
Price: $23.93   Cat. No. 476 118-4

© Copyright Buywell 1998-2013. All rights reserved.

Similar titles
  A few more titles on the ABC Classics label, of which there are 538 entries in our catalogue.

The Best of Teddy Tahu Rhodes

476 4619 The Best of Teddy Tahu Rhodes (ABC Classics CD)
Price:  AU $25.4
More Info  buy now
Full list of
ABC Classics

Irdische Klange (Earthly Sounds)

476 227-3 Irdische Klange (Earthly Sounds) (ABC Classics CD)
Price:  AU $23.925
More Info  buy now
Full list of
ABC Classics